Our Story

To be honest, I don’t really remember how I met Jacob – I just remember him always being there. We are both from the same small town of Sunnyvale, Texas and grew up in the same ward. Because his parents are divorced, I only remember seeing him in primary when he was visiting his dad over the summers. He moved to Sunnyvale permanently when he was 12. By the time I was in seventh grade, I had a huge crush on him. I asked him to my school Homecoming dance my freshman year of high school, as I didn’t want to be the only Church member there and have no one to dance with. He said yes, and from then on, he was my best friend. We dated steadily when I turned 16 and I wrote him throughout his mission in Bulgaria, although I dated other people while he was gone. He came home in February 2014, and while it was difficult for awhile with us attending different schools, we finally got engaged in October 2015. We will be married two weeks after I graduate with my Bachelor’s degree in Psychology.

This experience, over many years, has given me a strong testimony of the Lord’s timing. We didn’t marry when everyone else expected us to, or even when we expected us to, but when the time was right, we knew. I’m grateful that we didn’t rush into marriage when he got home from his mission – a lot had changed in the two years he was gone, we were attending two separate schools, and we were both too immature for marriage. There were times when we worried that we would never get back in sync with each other or even live in the same state again, but it has truly worked out better than either of us ever could have imagined. We are much closer, understand each other on a deeper level, and have been through many conflicts together. The experience of trusting in the Lord has brought us to so many blessings – I will have my degree by the time we get married and I didn’t have to leave BYU-I. Finishing my undergraduate degree at BYU-I has given me many opportunities that I wouldn’t have had otherwise. I’ve been able to study abroad in Europe and be a member of the Collegiate Singers, two huge dreams of mine. I’ve met some of my best friends and I love the Psychology Department here. Jacob has also recently been asked to be a translator for the Church, translating for General Conference, firesides, and other broadcasts. This is a huge blessing for us as newlyweds.We are both extremely grateful that, through the gospel, we are able to be married in the temple and be together for eternity.

10401118_1046136234685_3812_n

Sunnyvale Homecoming Dance – October 4, 2008

Leave a Reply

